ZAP 900x250

10th Annual CCRCC Big Biplane Bash — A Splashing Success!

10th Annual CCRCC Big Biplane Bash — A Splashing Success!

Well, the 2011 version of the Central Connecticut RC Club’s Big Biplane Bash all-biplane event is now history! Even though there was rain in the early AM setup time. The wet weather held off and we enjoyed a high, solid overcast that could not dampen the spirits of the 23 pilots that did showed up. Usually, the event draws 50 to 60 pilots so we still think we had a great turnout, most of which wore rain coats!

This year, Model Airplane News sponsored the event and we presented beautiful, laminated awards for the top six classes. Awards went out for Best Military, Best Civilian, Best Electric, Best Sport, Best Military and Best of Show.


(Above) Henry Haffke’s float-equiped Gee Bee biplane was in the spirit of our Rainy Event! (Above right) The first airplane in the air (and winner of a Futaba Servo,) and the Best Electric Winner Nicholas Biason.


(Above) Mitch Epstein assembles his giant WACO. (Above right) Whitney Philbrick’s Nieuport 28!


(Above) Winner of the Aerobatic Awards, and (Best of Show) and Best Military Winner above right!

Several supporting Sponsors also helped make the event a success including:


Alien Aircraft, Airtronics, Byron Fuels, Castle Creations, Du-Bro Products, E-flite, ElectriFly, Fox, Futaba, Great Planes, HobbyTown USA (Brookfield), Horizon Hobby, Kangke USA, Magnum Engines, Nick Ziroli Plans,RealFlight, PowerMaster, Robart Mfg.,  Spektrum, SKS Video Productions, Sullivan Products, Thunder Tiger, Top Notch Products, Tru-Turn Spinners, Williams Bros., ZAP Glue.


(above) Prize Table with all the Bootie! (Above Right) Acrylic Awards for the Free Flight Rubber Powered event.

Winners of the awards were (left to right): Neil Hunt (Best Aerobatic) Ultimate; Nicholas Biason (Best Electric) Micro 4-Site; Whitney Philbrick (Best WW1); Richard Rizza (Best Sport) GP Aeromaster; Mitch Epstein (Best Civilian) with his 33% Scale WACO; and Charlie Sjobeck (Best Military) with his 1/3-scale Stearman PT-17.  Best of Show also went to Charlie Sjobeck for his Stearman!

During the Raffle drawing, we had great help from little Gavin Callanan (above) shown with his grandpa Ronald. Ronald won the Airtronics SD6-G radio and Gavin got the laser-cut kit for the TNP Lil’ Pup sport trainer. Many thanks to both for all the help and fun!

Other winners were:


Free Flight All-up Last Down awards: Rick Bell

Free Flight Best of class: John DeMartin;


Best WW1 and George Leu Static Scale Awards went to Whitney Philbrick for his Nieuport 28 (GL SS) and Fokker Triplane (WW1)

Hardest Landing and Dead Battery Award went to CCRCC Club President Damon Rosenthal

Updated: July 16, 2015 — 4:40 PM


Add a Comment
  1. It certainly was, the MHRCS group had a great time and we all really appreciate Gerry and his teams efforts in putting on a great event. When next year?


  2. Gerry, Thanks to you and all of the club for a great event. i can’t remember a time I had more fun flying! The chowda was superb! Regards, Ron

  3. Gerry, My Grandson and I would like to thank you and everyone at the event for a wonderfull afternoon. The flying was superb as well as the raffel. I got some great pictures that we will treasure. Thanks again for a great day.
    Best Regards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Air Age Media © 2021
WordPress Lightbox