Legend Hobby VQ Warbirds 900x250

And the Winners Are… Top Gun Special Awards!

And the Winners Are… Top Gun Special Awards!

Every year at the Top Gun Scale Invitational special achievement awards are presented to the standouts in the various classes. Here is are the 2019 winners starting with the High Static awards. (Photos by David Hart)

(Below) “Mr. Top Gun” Peter Goldsmith

Below: Award winners and their sponsors


Masters High Static   

David Hayes                 Thrush             Static Score 99.167                CARF-Models


Expert High Static  

Peter Goldsmith          BAE Hawk 100         Static Score 99.00            Warbirds West


Team High Static

Rei Gonzalez                MiG 15             Static Score 96.33              Red Bull


Unlimited High Static

Joe Castelao               T-34 Mentor                 Static Score 98.25           Metal Building Supplies


X-Class High Static  

Rob Lynch                  F-18 Hornet               Static Score 97.75              Cortex Demon Gyro


Civilian Runner-Up

Jack Buckley                Mini-Mac Homebuilt             JR Propo


Best Civilian  (Pilots Choice)  

Steve Thomas               Waco YMF-5               Riff-Raff


Best Military   Runner- Up 

Mike Fetyko                Spitfire                  Ray & Robin’s Hobbies


Best Military   (Pilots Choice)

Chuck Hamilton            SBD Dauntless           Horizon Hobby


Best WW2                         

Wayne Layne           P-38 Lightning                Dr. Jet


Best Biplane

Frankie Mirandes         DH-88 Tiger Moth             Model Airplane News


Best Golden Age

Richard Feroldi            Davis D-1K                  Desert Aircraft


Best WW 1  

Todd Bixby                  Albatross                     Balsa USA


Best Pre WW2                                 

Jeff Pike                   Stinson SR-10        Warbirds over the Rockies


Best Jet   

Henry Castellanos         F-100             Falcon Propellers


Best Pro-Am Pro  

Roberto Zelaya             L-39 Albatross         Your Pal Sal


Best Pro-Am Sport      

Carl Stewart Jr.           A-26            Micro Fasteners


Best Multi Performance         

David Payne                  Boeing B-17          Cortex Demon Gyro


Engineering Excellence                                    

Mike Barbee                 Beech King Air         Robart Mfg.


Outstanding Craftsmanship     

Wayne Layne                 P-38  Lightning             Bob Violett Models


Best Unlimited Showing    

Ali Machinchy / Joe Castelao   T-34 Mentor


Special Recognition    

Ted Roman                   Super Cub          Hitec Radio


Special Recognition 

Cody Hague                  Ju 87 Stuka           EZ Balancer


Everybody Loves You 

Sal Becherano                                    John & Sydni Smith


Critic’s Choice Runner-up        

Joe Castelao                T-34 Mentor                 Metal Building Supplies


Critic’s Choice 

Jordan Hall Peterson    CL-13 (Canadian F-86)       ZAP Glue


Top Buns Award 

Joe McBride                                          FLY Girls

Updated: May 8, 2019 — 12:07 PM


Add a Comment
  1. Love this format for showing all the winners!

    1. Thanks Ray!

  2. When r u going to show us the models WOW

  3. Congratulations to Wayne Layne for his superb P-38 “Lightning.” That’s like building two airplanes!

  4. Couple of errors on your captions, on the Tiger Moth you listed as a DH 88. The DH 88 is the dehavilland comet. And on the last pic of the F-86 you listed as a Canadian AF ship when it clearly has US markings.

  5. Ted Roman

    Great shot of my Super Cub. thanks Ray

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Air Age Media © 2021
WordPress Lightbox